Campbells' dominance continues at Road Time Trial

Gary Acosta
Saturday, August 6 2016

It was familiar faces atop the podium this morning in Oropouche when the 2016 National Road Time Trial Championships pedaled off. After torrential downpour, the weather held up allowing for some quick times over an undulating and challenging time trial course.

Akil Campbell (Team DPS) successfully defended his National Championship title in the Men’s Road Time Trial after clocking a blistering time of 49:22.95 at an average speed of just about 44km/h. In second, repeating his silver medal performance from 2015 was Gevan Samuel (The Braves) in 50:32.60 while James Hadeed (Heatwave) stepped one place higher into third in a time of 52:08.95.

Akil’s younger sister, Teniel was once again dominant in the Elite Women defeating for National Time Trial Champion Christian Farah (PSL) and National Triathlon Champion, Jenna Ross (Slipstream). Campbell’s (T) time of 36:48.13 was almost two minutes faster than Farah in 38:51.13, while Ross was clocked in 39:02.10.

Tyler Cole (Team DPS) as well doubled up with a Road Time Trial title after clocking a hot 34:20.60, some three minutes ahead of his closest rivals in Lorenzo Orosco (Breakaway) and Ronell Woods (Team Woods).With only three tenths of a second separating them, Orosco was just faster than his Team Woods’ counterpart in Ronell Woods.

In the Juveniles, it was Jabari Whiteman (Southclaine) at the top of the podium in a time of 16:07.85 while Enrique de Comarmond (Heatwave) was hot on his heels in a time of 16:31.21. Darius Beckles (Open Road Challenge Accepted) snatched bronze ahead of Adam Francis (The Braves) in a time of 18:34.05).

Derek De Gannes (The Braves) was most impressive in the Masters 55-59 category after he was clocked 16:37.38 while the best efforts of Stephen Aboud (Unattached) couldn’t close the 2 minute gap that De Gannes had on him. Raphael Figueira (Breakaway), Douglas D’Abadie (Team SR), Dirk Tidd (Knights FR), Jeffery La Fond (Southampton) and Peter Hernandez (Hummingbirds) were all victorious in their respective age groups.

Full Results:
C09 – 2016 National Champs – Time Trial Results

TTCF news