Cyclists geared up for National Road Champs

Gary Acosta
Saturday, June 10 2017

The likes of Jabari Whiteman and Enrique De Comarmond (Heatwave) are likely favourites to take top honours in the Junior and Juvenile Men Categories when the 2017 National Road Cycling Championships takes centre stage on the 10th, 11th and 18th June. The Championships for the Road Time Trial and Road Race will be for all categories except Elite cyclists while the Criterium will be for all categories.

June 10th will see about 50 cyclists go against the clock in the Road Time Trial as the Waterloo-Exchange Connector Road in Central Trinidad takes centre stage. The 11km circuit is flat and fast and is expected to provide quick times.

On June 11th the OWTU has partnered with the TTCF to host its National Road Championships on its perennial course from San Fernando to Fyzabad through Point Fortin. The race will also feature non-National events for Elite Men and Women cyclists with defending champion, Jyme Bridges (Team DPS) looking to defend his crown.

The final day of the Championships will take cycling for the first time to the Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Raceway in Wallerfield as the 1.35km circuit will host the National Criterium Championships. The circuit at Wallerfield provides some unique challenges to the cyclists with strong winds and quick corners, the National titles will definitely be up for grabs! The Wallerfield circuit is also totally closed off to vehicular traffic, making it one of the safest venues for cycling.


TTCF news