Campbell, Alexander set new Track records

Gary Acosta
Saturday, March 25 2017

There is an old adage that says that “Records are made to be Broken”. Saturday afternoon at the National Cycling Centre was a true testament to this as Teniel Campbell (PSL) and Quincy Alexander (Team DPS) blazed the indoor boards when the TTCF hosted the 4th of 5 legs in its 2017 Track Series.
Campbell first lowered her personal best in the Flying 200m from 12.38 seconds last weekend to 12.265 seconds to eclipse the previous record of 12.296seconds set by Keiana Lester (Sonics CC) at the Elite Pan Am Trials in September last year. Alexander was also impressive in the Flying 200m event for Elite Men after he stopped the clock at a blistering 10.453 seconds. The time was better than Duban Urrego’s (COL) time of 10.507seconds during the Junior Pan Ams in August last year.

Campbell however, wouldn’t stop at the Flying 200m as the Endurance cyclist clearly showed she has a sprinting prowess after she then re-wrote the 500m Time Trial track record of 36.396seconds set by Angie Sol Roa (COL) in July 2016. Campbell was timed 36.360seconds to once again notching her name in the record books for the indoor velodrome.

Keron Bramble set a new fastest time for the Men’s 500m Time Trial with a sizzling 33.528seconds with Azikiwe Kellar (Team Foundation) in second with 34.645seconds and Sei Daniel (AWCC) rounding out the top three with a time of 34.819seconds.

After setting the new track record in the Flying 200m, Quincy Alexander went on to face 2x Olympian Njisane Phillip in his first local track event since competing at the 2016 Olympic Games. Phillip, qualifying in a time of 10.623 seconds showed his sprinting skills to take the overall Sprint title with teammate Keron Bramble taking bronze.

The main event, the 10km Tempo Race saw 15 year old, Enrique de Comarmond (Heatwave) walk away with a last ditch effort that saw him lapping the field in the last lap, subsequently gaining 20 vital points. De Comarmond finished on 30pts head of Nero (Team DPS) on 28 and another bright prospect, Lorenzo Orosco (Team DPS) on 26pts.

The 2017 Track Series comes to an end on Sunday 26th March at the Arima Velodrome with action getting started at 3:00pm.

C04-R-Overall Results –Track Series 4

2017 TTCF Track Series Standings - 25 Mar

TTCF news