D'Abreau, Hernandez go 3 for 3 at Youth Champs

Gary Acosta
Sunday, July 9 2017

The Tinymite Boys and Girls Categories were dominated by Ryan D’Abreau (AWCC) and Makayla Hernandez (Madonna) respectively when Day 1 of the 2017 Youth National Track Cycling Championships pedaled off at the Irwin Park Sporting Complex in Siparia on Saturday. 

Both cyclists captured the Standing 500m, Individual Pursuit and Match Sprint titles in fine form to walk away with 3 gold medals apiece going into Day 2 on Sunday. Also impressive on Day 1 was Mosi Williamson (Sonics) – U13 Boys, Jaquan Elbourne (Open Road) – U9 Boys, Jeduthun Henry (Sonics) – U7 Boys and Alexia Wilson (AWCC) – U13 Girls as they all made a clean sweep of their categories.

In the Boys Under 11 category however, a strong rivalry has begun to brew with Judah Neverson (Sonics), Javon Ramroop (Sonics) and Amari Dollaway (AWCC) all fighting for top podium positions. Neverson captured the Sprint and Individual Pursuit with Ramroop taking the Standing 333m Time Trial and Dollaway on the podium all three times.

With Day 2 scheduled to start at 1pm on Sunday, action will take centre stage once again in the Scratch Race, Points Race, Keirin, Team Sprint and Team Pursuit events. Admission to the public is FREE!

Youth National Track Championships - Day 1 Results

TTCF news